Dr. İlker Apaydın Hair Clinic

Istanbul, Turkey

Last reviewed

THI ScoreAssessment in progressView methodology

Editorial summary

Dr. İlker Apaydın Hair Clinic is a physician-named hair-restoration practice in Istanbul. The current official FUE workflow describes final consultation, planning and recipient-channel creation by a plastic surgeon, extraction as a physician-led microsurgical stage, and graft insertion by a transplantation nurse following the surgeon's channel plan. This stage-specific account is more informative than the clinic's broader statement that Dr. Apaydın performs all operations himself, so THI describes the model as surgeon-centric rather than doctor-only. The clinic says it treats more than 1,000 patients annually, while a 2025 patient reported having surgery alongside two other people; neither source establishes a current daily range or exact concurrency. A current UK-facing page lists £2,800–£3,000 depending on graft count and technique, with hotel, transfers and other inclusions, but this is one marketing pathway rather than a universal tariff. Independent case evidence includes historical mixed outcomes and an early 2026 case performed in Cyprus; these reports cannot establish clinic-wide success, complication or repair rates. The THI score remains withheld pending calibration of the planned 25-clinic cohort.

Structured facts

Location
Istanbul, Turkey
Profile verification
partially verified
Commercial relationship
No commercial relationshipPublisher declaration

Declared by Turkey Hair Index on .

Read the commercial disclosure

Recorded separately and never used in score calculation.

Patient volume
Not confirmedNot independently confirmed

The clinic claims more than 1,000 patients per year, and one 2025 patient reported undergoing surgery alongside two other people. These sources support a multi-patient model but do not disclose a current minimum, maximum, typical daily range or simultaneous-team count. THI does not divide the annual claim into a daily estimate.

Sources:[6][10]
Procedures
Follicular Unit Excision (FUE), Sapphire FUE, Follicular Unit Transplantation (FUT), Combined FUT and FUE, Eyebrow transplantation, Beard and moustache transplantation, Corrective or repair hair transplantationThird-party source

Availability is supported by clinic pages and the professional profile; suitability requires case-specific medical assessment.

Sources:[3][7][8]

Who Actually Performs the Procedure?

Consultation
The official FUE pathway describes a final consultation with the plastic surgeon who will perform the operation. (Op. Dr. İlker Apaydın)Clinic confirmed

This is a clinic-published workflow statement, not an independent observation of every consultation.

Sources:[3][5]
Hairline design
The official technique page assigns individualized hairline planning to the plastic surgeon. (Op. Dr. İlker Apaydın)Clinic confirmedSources:[3]
Planning
The clinic describes physician review of donor supply, graft composition, recipient density and direction before surgery. (Op. Dr. İlker Apaydın)Clinic confirmed

The published process does not guarantee a particular graft count or plan for another patient.

Sources:[3]
Incisions / channels
The official workflow assigns recipient-channel creation to an experienced plastic surgeon and describes 0.5–0.8 mm micro-slit blades. (Op. Dr. İlker Apaydın)Clinic confirmed

The doctor role is clinic-published rather than independently observed in a representative sample.

Sources:[3]
Extraction
Official material presents extraction as a plastic-surgeon-led microsurgical stage. The exact doctor-versus-team share for a particular FUE case is not disclosed. (Op. Dr. İlker Apaydın, Clinical team support)Clinic confirmed

THI does not convert the clinic's broad doctor-performed wording into a claim that every extraction is completed exclusively by Dr. Apaydın.

Sources:[3][2]
Implantation
The detailed official FUE page states that the transplantation nurse inserts grafts into the prepared channels. (Transplantation nurse working from the surgeon's channel plan)Clinic confirmed

The current named nurse allocation and individual credentials for a booked case are not published.

Sources:[3]
Supervision
The official FAQ states that a transplantation nurse works under specialist-surgeon supervision, and the detailed workflow places the physician in planning and recipient-site creation. (Op. Dr. İlker Apaydın)Clinic confirmed

This does not establish continuous room presence or exact concurrency for every stage.

Sources:[4][3]

Daily Patient Volume

Reported range
Not confirmedNot independently confirmed

The clinic claims more than 1,000 patients per year, and one 2025 patient reported undergoing surgery alongside two other people. These sources support a multi-patient model but do not disclose a current minimum, maximum, typical daily range or simultaneous-team count. THI does not divide the annual claim into a daily estimate.

Sources:[6][10]

Consultation & Planning

Doctor consultation
YesClinic confirmed

The official pathway describes final doctor consultation; confirm timing and format for a specific booking.

Sources:[3][5]
Video consultation
Not confirmedNot independently confirmed

A free online consultation is advertised, but the reviewed pages do not establish that every remote consultation is a live video appointment with Dr. Apaydın.

Sources:[1][5]
Photo assessment
YesClinic confirmed

The UK-facing booking pathway requests front, top, side and back photographs before assessment and quotation.

Sources:[5]
Coordinator involvement
YesClinic confirmed

Coordinator travel logistics should remain separate from medical assessment and surgical decisions.

Sources:[5]
Notes
Before booking, request a written stage-by-stage role statement, patient volume for the chosen date, graft plan, full price and inclusions, operating location and aftercare escalation route.Publicly documentedSources:[3][5][6]

Surgical Team

Doctors
Op. Dr. İlker Apaydın — Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery specialist; clinic lead surgeonThird-party sourceSources:[1][8]
Roles
Dr. Apaydın: consultation, hairline and surgical planning, physician-led extraction and recipient-channel creation, Transplantation nurse: graft insertion into the physician-prepared channels, Clinical team: extraction and procedural support with patient-specific task share not fully disclosedClinic confirmed

The role model is documented more clearly than the current named team roster.

Sources:[3][4]
Team members
Not confirmedNot independently confirmed

The clinic publishes experience claims for its nursing team, but a complete current roster, individual qualifications and patient-specific allocation were not established.

Sources:[2][3]
Team continuity
Not confirmedNot independently confirmed

One clinic-published testimonial says the same team worked with the patient in 2018 and 2023, but the clinic does not publish a general continuity commitment or patient-specific allocation policy.

Sources:[5]
Experience notes
Clinic material states that its head nurse has more than 25 years of experience and other nurses more than 10 years each. THI records these as clinic claims; individual employment and credential histories were not independently confirmed.Clinic confirmedSources:[2]

Donor Management

Published information

The official workflow discusses punch size, depth, follicle angle, extraction spacing, graft composition, donor limits and the option of FUT or combined FUT+FUE. These are process disclosures, not proof of a particular donor outcome or graft-survival rate.

Third-party source

Standardized donor photographs, transection data, representative long-term donor outcomes and patient-level graft-survival measurements were not found.

Sources:[3][7][8]
  • FUE extraction protocol: The official FUE page describes 0.6–0.9 mm micromotor punches, magnification and patient-specific decisions about punch diameter, speed, angle, depth and spacing.

    Sources:[3]
  • Graft composition: The clinic says single-, double-, triple- and four-hair follicular units are counted separately and that single fine grafts are selected for the hairline.

    Sources:[3]
  • Technique breadth: FUT and combined FUT+FUE are offered as additional harvesting approaches. Their availability is not evidence that either approach is automatically better for a particular patient.

    Sources:[7][8]

Procedures

Confirmed procedures
Follicular Unit Excision (FUE), Sapphire FUE, Follicular Unit Transplantation (FUT), Combined FUT and FUE, Eyebrow transplantation, Beard and moustache transplantation, Corrective or repair hair transplantationThird-party source

Availability is supported by clinic pages and the professional profile; suitability requires case-specific medical assessment.

Sources:[3][7][8]

Pricing

Pricing evidence
GBP 2,800–3,000 — case-specific price; scope variesClinic confirmed

The £2,800–£3,000 range appears on one current UK-facing marketing pathway and varies by graft count and technique. It is not treated as a universal tariff or guaranteed quote for every patient, market or procedure.

Sources:[5]
Price model
case by caseSources:[5]
Hotel
IncludedSources:[5]
Transfers
IncludedSources:[5]
Other inclusions
Two nights in a four-star hotel for the UK-facing pathway, Airport and local clinic–hotel transfers, Preoperative consultation, blood tests and local anesthesia, Medication and postoperative kit, One PRP session, Postoperative checks and remote WhatsApp follow-upSources:[5]
Last checked

Aftercare

First wash
The clinic's FAQ says hair is washed on the first day after transplantation and the patient is taught a gentle washing method.Clinic confirmed

This records the clinic's general published pathway, not individualized medical advice from THI.

Sources:[4]
Clinic follow-up
The UK-facing package describes a return washing session and postoperative checks before departure.Clinic confirmed

Confirm the exact appointment schedule and who conducts each review.

Sources:[5]
Remote follow-up
The UK-facing page describes remote monitoring through follow-up photographs sent by WhatsApp.Clinic confirmed

No fixed 1-, 3-, 6-, 12- or 18-month schedule or response-time commitment was published.

Sources:[5]
Medications
The UK-facing package lists medications and a postoperative kit, without publishing a patient-specific regimen.Clinic confirmed

Medication decisions require direction from the treating clinician.

Sources:[5]
PRP availability
YesClinic confirmed

One PRP session is listed in the UK-facing package; inclusion in other pathways is not established.

Sources:[5]
Follow-up duration
Not confirmedNot independently confirmed

The clinic advertises remote support but does not publish a standardized long-term follow-up duration, review calendar or escalation service level.

Sources:[5][4]
Notes
The clinic publishes general recovery guidance and acknowledges that no result can be predicted exactly. Patients should follow individualized instructions from their treating clinician.Clinic confirmedSources:[4]

What Stands Out

  • The detailed official workflow identifies the physician-led planning and recipient-channel stages and openly assigns implantation to a transplantation nurse.
  • The current ISHRS directory lists Dr. Apaydın as a Full Member and records his plastic-surgery background.
  • The clinic publishes unusually detailed FUE donor-management and channel-creation explanations and also offers FUT and combined FUT+FUE.
  • A current UK-facing page publishes a price range and itemized package inclusions, with a clear note that the final quote depends on graft count and technique.

Things to Consider

  • The broad claim that Dr. Apaydın performs all operations himself conflicts with the detailed official workflow, which assigns graft insertion to a transplantation nurse. THI uses the stage-specific account.
  • The exact doctor-versus-team share during FUE extraction and the patient-specific nursing allocation are not disclosed.
  • The clinic's annual volume claim and one 2025 multi-patient report do not establish a current daily range or concurrency limit.
  • The £2,800–£3,000 range and listed inclusions belong to a UK-facing pathway, not a universal tariff.
  • The 2026 independent case was performed in Cyprus and was only about four months postoperative when reported, so it cannot verify the Istanbul workflow or a mature result.
  • Historical self-reported cases include both positive and dissatisfied experiences. They are self-selected and cannot establish clinic-wide outcome rates.

May Suit

  • People seeking a surgeon-centric workflow in which the doctor plans the case and creates recipient channels while a nurse performs implantation.
  • People who want FUE, FUT or combined-harvesting options discussed within one physician-led practice.
  • UK patients who value a currently published package range and are willing to confirm that its terms apply to their own quote.

May Not Suit

  • People who require every graft to be extracted and implanted exclusively by the named doctor.
  • People who need a published one-patient-per-day guarantee, exact concurrency limit or complete named clinical-team roster.
  • People who require representative audited outcome rates or a universal clinic tariff before making an enquiry.

Sources & Verification

Numbered links on structured facts lead to the corresponding entries below. A citation identifies the supporting material; it does not independently verify a claim.

  1. [1] Official biography — Dr. İlker ApaydınClinic website · Publicly documented · Not independently confirmed · checked

    Supports clinic-published medical education, plastic-surgery training and online-consultation presentation.

  2. [2] Official team profile — Dr. İlker ApaydınClinic website · Publicly documented · Not independently confirmed · checked

    Contains the clinic's broad doctor-performed claim, procedure list and nursing-experience claims. THI compares this with the more detailed stage-specific FUE page.

  3. [3] Official FUE operation-day and technique pageClinic website · Clinic confirmed · Not independently confirmed · checked

    Supports the clinic-published planning, extraction, channel-creation and nurse-implantation workflow, plus punch and micro-slit ranges.

  4. [4] Official hair-transplant FAQClinic website · Clinic confirmed · Not independently confirmed · checked

    Supports the clinic's stage descriptions, first-day wash, recovery guidance and statement that nurses work under specialist-surgeon supervision.

  5. [5] Official UK-to-Turkey pathway and package pageClinic website · Clinic confirmed · Not independently confirmed · checked

    Lists £2,800–£3,000 depending on graft count and technique, itemized inclusions, photo-based assessment, a wash visit and remote WhatsApp follow-up. It is one market-specific pathway.

  6. [6] Dr. İlker Apaydın clinic home pageClinic website · Publicly documented · Not independently confirmed · checked

    Contains the clinic's claim of treating more than 1,000 patients per year. THI does not convert that claim into patients per day.

  7. [7] Official FUT hair-transplant pageClinic website · Publicly documented · Not independently confirmed · checked

    Supports current clinic presentation of FUT and combined FUT+FUE as available harvesting options.

  8. [8] ISHRS physician profile — İlker Apaydın, MDPublic record · Third-party source · Partially verified · checked

    Currently lists Dr. Apaydın as a Full Member in Istanbul, records his plastic-surgery background and hair-restoration focus since 2006, and lists FUE, FUT and repair work. Membership does not establish outcomes.

  9. [9] Independent patient journey: 2,478 grafts, April 2026Third-party publication · Third-party source · Not independently confirmed · checked

    A self-reported day-1-to-125 case naming Dr. Apaydın and describing surgery in Cyprus, with topical minoxidil and oral finasteride context. It is early, location-specific and not a mature outcome measure.

  10. [10] Independent 2025 report of a multi-patient surgery dayThird-party publication · Third-party source · Not independently confirmed · checked

    One patient reported having a transplant alongside two other people. This supports historical multi-patient context but not a current daily range or concurrency policy.

  11. [11] Independent historical 3,600-graft outcome discussionThird-party publication · Third-party source · Not independently confirmed · checked

    A self-reported mature case expressing limited density satisfaction. It is one non-standardized account and cannot establish prevalence or clinic-wide performance.

Corrections

Have evidence that a factual detail is inaccurate or out of date?

Read the corrections policy